Holy Bible: Mosaic Giveaway!

In case you haven’t figured out the pattern yet, everyone hosting a stop on the Mosaic blog tour also has a free hardback copy of Holy Bible: Mosaic to give away, courtesy of Tyndale!  The contests are hosted individually by the various bloggers, and each contest is as unique as each of us.  Here are the ‘rules’ for the contest here at Taking Thoughts Captive:Mosaic

  1. Comment on this post, telling my how you think the Mosaic will deepen your walk with Christ and how you anticipate making use of its unique features in your family/congregation/parish/ministry/etc.
  2. Link to my review of Mosaic on your blog and/or mention it on Twitter.  (If you tweet about it, my handle is @st_polycarp…be sure to let me know you mentioned/linked to the review)

You can comment up until midnight next Tuesday, October 6th.  I’ll announce the winner on Wednesday!  Be sure and leave your email addy on the comment form, or I won’t be able to contact you if you’re the winner.  If you don’t win here, check out the other blogs on the Mosaic tour for another opportunity!

add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist : add to furl : Digg it : add to ma.gnolia : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : TailRank : post to facebook

4 thoughts on “Holy Bible: Mosaic Giveaway!

  1. Pingback: Holy Bible: Mosaic (NLT) Q&A with David Sanford « Taking Thoughts Captive…

  2. T.C.,

    Having checked out the 84 pg sample PDF, I was immediately taken by the weekly meditations and the great resource called the Tesserae. My wife and I (both with a degree in history) would appreciate and grow from the legacy of the words of our diverse Spiritual fore-fathers, doing devotionals that truly pull you in. As you mentioned in your review, complemented by the full color art, everything is visually guiding the reader and engager to a deeper relationship with not only the Lord, but also with the Church, historic and currently world-wide.

    But, mostly, this seems to be a text that can be embraced personally, with my wife and kids (I like the NLT for reading with the kids, plus I love exposing them to the writings of historic Christian personalities), and with the people I encounter day to day. Visually, the layout is comfortable, the text easy to read, and the references back to the meditations (in the margins that I can see from the sample pdf) are a very welcome.

    Thank you very much for this opportunity. Blessings and peace to you.

    And, I did mention your review on Twitter. I’m @martyrologist.

  3. I’ve taken a look at the sample PDF and the Mosaic Bible looks like it would be an excellent tool for family Bible reading. I like the thought of following the Christian calender and in past years we as a family have used a book of prayer to lead us through the Advent and Christmas seasons. I like the fact that the Mosaic Bible has readings from throughout Church history to help you meditate on the text and connect with the thoughts of other Christians. The artwork also adds another whole level of meaning to the text. I feel that it would be a good Bible to use for family readings throughout the year.
    cfm563@yahoo.com

  4. First, thanks for the thoughtful Q&A with David Sanford.

    My Congregationalist church already observes the Christian year. We have two ministers, an interim head pastor whose sermons are engaging the congregation in biblical text more directly and studiously than his predecessor, and a Christian education minister who’s in seminary and who’s been encouraging us to grow our prayer practices inspired by lectio divina. It’s an exciting time in the life of the congregation. If I’m lucky enough to win a copy of Mosaic, I would give it to my congregation’s Christian education minister, because I think she could make great use of it in helping our congregation deepen our commitment to spiritual disciplines through an encounter with the wider Church across history as presented in Mosaic and through the NLT itself, which to date has not been a much-used translation for preaching or teaching in my congregation. (We get a lot of NRSV and The Message! Both fine in their place, but I personally think the current edition of NLT preserves most of the virtues of the NRSV while significantly improving the clarity of the language for a contemporary reader.)

    scott (at) madforjam.com

Leave a Reply

